Recovering Damages After Being Injured in an Uber or Lyft Accident
The incredible rise of ride-share companies has dramatically changed the way we get around. Hundreds of thousands of Californians drive for Uber and Lyft in the state, but regulation on the industry has been sparse. Many of the rigorous requirements that public transportation drivers have to go through simply do not apply to ride-share companies.
The lack of regulations and the extraordinary number of drivers means that ride-share accidents are bound to happen. If you are injured in an Uber or Lyft accident, you need an experienced attorney to help you get the compensation you deserve. Call the Overett Group at (562) 986-9864 today for a free consultation.
Can I Sue Uber If I am Injured in an Accident?
If you were a passenger, in another vehicle, or a pedestrian injured in an Uber accident, you can sue the negligent driver as well as the ride-share company. Car accidents involving an Uber or Lyft driver can get complicated because there may be multiple insurance policies and more than one liable party.
In order to get the maximum compensation in your case, it is always recommended that you consult with a knowledgeable Long Beach Uber accident lawyer prior to settling your claim. Oftentimes, a negligent party or their insurance representative will try to get you to settle for far less than your case is worth. If you have been seriously injured, contact our office to discuss your legal options.
How Much Insurance Is a Ride-Share Driver Required to Carry?
As ride-share companies like Uber and Lyft began to gain traction in California, lawmakers were quick to pass legislation that would close the insurance gap. In California, ride-share companies are referred to as Transportation Network Companies or TNCs.
TNCs like Uber and Lyft allow drivers to use their own vehicle to pick up passengers, but their personal insurance policy was often insufficient to cover accidents.
Under California law, all drivers are required to carry minimum liability insurance in the following amounts:
- $15,000 for injury or death to one person.
- $30,000 for injury or death to more than one person.
- $5,000 for damage to property.
How Much Insurance Is Uber Required to Provide on Drivers?
A 2015 law amended the Public Utilities Code to require that ride-share companies (TNCs) carry $1 million in liability coverage. This policy applies from the time a driver accepts a match until the passenger exits the vehicle. Ride-share companies must also maintain $200,000 in excess insurance from the time a driver opens the app to receive a match until one is accepted.
Additionally, a ride-share company employing a driver or the driver themselves must maintain primary liability insurance once they have opened the app to accept a match in the following amounts:
- $50,000 minimum for injury or death to one person.
- $100,000 minimum for injury or death to multiple persons.
- $30,000 minimum for property damage.
How Do I Prove the Lyft Driver Was Responsible?
It is not your responsibility following a car accident to determine who was at fault for the collision. If you were seriously injured, you should always contact law enforcement from the scene. An officer can help to dispatch emergency medical services and will conduct an accident investigation. The accident report can help to determine liability, but it is not definitive.
In some cases, it may be necessary to conduct a thorough, independent accident investigation. To obtain compensation from a ride-share company, you must not only show that the driver was at-fault for the accident but also determine whether they were working for the company at the time.
Which Insurance Policy Applies in Uber Accidents?
The insurance policy that applies is determined by whether the driver had opened the app and was waiting for a match, was in-between matches, had a passenger, or was on their way to pick up a passenger. If you are injured in an Uber or Lyft accident, it is always in your best interest to contact a Long Beach car accident lawyer who is familiar with ride-share collisions.
Uber accidents may require complex litigation in order to obtain a favorable recovery. While new legislation was passed to help hold TNCs accountable and close insurance gaps, it may still require a lawsuit to receive fair compensation. Insurance representatives for TNCs routinely try to downplay injury victim’s claims or deny them altogether.
What If I Was a Pedestrian Hit By a Lyft or Uber Driver?
Regardless of whether you were a pedestrian, passenger, or another driver, you might be entitled to compensation from the negligent driver or the ride-share company they were working for at the time of the accident. To determine who can be held accountable for your injuries, you should contact a Long Beach Uber accident attorney as soon as possible.
What Should I Do If I Am Injured by an Uber Driver?
If you are seriously injured by an Uber or Lyft driver, you need to seek emergency medical treatment. Keep track of all treatment and costs and present it to your attorney.
After seeking medical treatment, take the following steps after an Uber accident:
- Collect any evidence. If you are able to at the scene, document the accident by taking pictures and videos. Take down any information from witnesses and other parties involved in the accident.
- Do not sign anything. You should never sign anything or accept a settlement without first consulting with an attorney. Insurance companies will try to get you to settle for the least amount of money possible.
- Call our office. Our Uber accident lawyers can help you determine whether you have a valid claim for damages and how to pursue a lawsuit against negligent parties.
Contact the Overett Group for a Free Consultation
If you have been injured in an Uber or Lyft accident, contact our office to speak directly with a highly-qualified lawyer. There are no fees unless we win.
Call (562) 986-9864 or fill out our online contact form for a free consultation. Get the experience you can trust.