If you have been injured by someone else?s negligent, reckless, or careless actions, you may be wondering how long you have to file a personal injury lawsuit. In California, there is a time limit ? known as a ?statute of limitations? ? that applies to your case. For this reason, you should waste no time in contacting a Long Beach personal injury attorney at Overett Group. Our firm has a 100% success rate.
Think you have a case? Contact Overett Group to find out how long you have left to file.
Statute of Limitations for Civil Lawsuits in California
In California, the statutes of limitations vary depending on the type of claim involved?which is why you should discuss your case with a personal injury lawyer as soon as possible. If you wait too long to file, you could be barred from recovering any level of compensation.
Below is an overview of California?s civil statutes of limitations:
- Personal injury: 2 years from the date of injury
- Property damage: 3 years from the date of wrongdoing
- Medical malpractice: 3 years from the date of injury
- Legal malpractice: 4 years from the date of wrongdoing
- Libel & slander: 1 year from the date of wrongdoing
In some cases, the statute of limitations can be extended to account for a delayed discovery of injury or wrongdoing. For example, you would have one year from the date of discovery, rather than the date of injury, if you were not immediately aware of injuries caused by medical malpractice.
Contact Overett Group to Learn More About Your Rights
Time may be running out in your case. Take action today by discussing your options with a Long Beach personal injury lawyer at Overett Group. With more than a decade of experience and a 100% success rate, our firm has what it takes to secure maximum compensation on your behalf. Give us a call today at (562) 986-9864 to find out what your case could be worth.